Florida’s 14-Day Accident Law
Accidents are pretty traumatizing and may cause a lot of damage. What happens in just a few seconds may lead to not just injury but a lengthy procedure to claim for your injury.
Due to the limitations imposed by the Florida 14-day accident legislation, you must be swift to take action if you submit a car accident injury claim in Florida. You may forfeit your opportunity to collect compensation for your injuries and damages if you do not follow the rules set forth by the law.
Legal representation and an understanding of the Florida 14-day law accident can save you thousands of dollars. You may be entitled to receive compensation and fair settlement if you meet with a motor vehicle accident and you file an auto accident injury claim.
What is Florida’s 14-day Accident Law?
Suppose you have been involved in a motor vehicle accident in the State of Florida; according to the law, you are to receive initial medical services and care, legally, within 14 days to qualify for Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits.
Insurance companies have the right to deny any of your claims regarding the accident or refuse to make the payment for your medical bills and other damages covered by PIP if you do not seek care within 14 days of the accident.
If in 14 days, medical care is not sought, and then you decide to file an auto accident injury claim against the other motorist, the chances of you winning the case are slim. When you don’t seek medical attention for an extended period, the question of when and how badly you were hurt remains; it may jeopardize your settlement chances.
What can you do if you meet with an Auto Accident?
While the Florida 14-day accident legislation allows you two weeks to see a doctor after being injured in a vehicle accident, you should seek treatment right away. Because many injuries are not immediately apparent for a variety of reasons, this is necessary.
When a person is involved in a traumatic event like an auto accident, they frequently experience shock. Adrenaline rushes through your body, reducing the amount of pain you’re experiencing at the time. You may feel well at the scene of the accident, only to discover that you are harmed during the next few days. Pain and Symptoms might take a long time to appear after an injury, and therefore it is critical to get medical help as soon as possible.
What is Personal Injury Protection Insurance?
In Florida, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is part of conventional auto insurance. It pays for emergency room visits, hospital stays, diagnostic tests, and a portion of lost wages, among other things. In Florida, every driver must have PIP coverage as part of their insurance policy. At the very least, $10,000 is the minimum amount of insurance coverage.
To be eligible for these benefits, you must seek treatment within 14 days of being treated. If you have an emergency injury, you are legally entitled to the total amount of the policy’s coverage. In cases where you have non-emergency issues, the PIP amounts to a maximum of $2,500. Medical costs, particularly those resulting from injuries that require long-term treatment, are likely to exceed this sum.
A personal injury claim for an auto accident is a way to file a civil lawsuit against the other motorist to get the total compensation you deserve. A settlement may include compensation for lost wages, automobile or property damage, as well as pain and suffering.
You can file an auto accident injury claim even if you have received reimbursement from a Florida insurance policy with personal injury protection. To assist you in filing a personal injury claim, you must contact a Fort Lauderdale personal injury attorney with experience with auto accidents.
Will you be denied what you are entitled to?
When you submit a claim to an insurance company, an adjuster will assess the amount you’re requesting to see if it’s reasonable or if the firm should counter-offer for less. Insurance companies frequently strive to pay as little as possible or even deny your claim entirely. This is why it’s critical to have a Fort Myers personal injury lawyer on your side to ensure that the insurance companies don’t try to take advantage of you.
Insurance companies sometimes dismiss personal injury claims if you do not present sufficient documentation of your accident, injury, and treatment. They might try to get the payment from the other driver’s insurance company. In either case, you have the right to fight back and receive the compensation you are entitled to.
If an insurance company declines your claim, this does not rule out the possibility of filing a personal injury lawsuit. If they refuse your claim, they must provide you with written notice of their decision.
Ensure that any correspondence relating to vehicle accident injury claims is written down. You should contact an attorney as soon as possible after the accident to assist you in navigating the insurance system and pursuing compensation from the responsible party.
14-Day Accident Rule in Florida
The 14-day accident rule in Florida mandates that wounded individuals seek medical attention within 14 days following a car collision. Claims made under Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage are subject to the 14-day rule.
Even if you don’t have any apparent injuries, you must go to the hospital very far away following a car accident. If you do not seek medical care within 14 days, your insurance provider may deny your claim.
When filing an auto accident injury claim in Florida, a refusal to pay might be upsetting, especially if you followed the 14-day accident law.
Contact The Law Offices of Wolf & Pravato
Engage the services of a personal injury lawyer in Florida to examine your case and assist you in obtaining payment for your losses and damages. Wolf & Pravato, a South Florida vehicle accident law firm, can assist you in filing the complaint and completing the necessary paperwork. Schedule a free case review with us today.