Injured by a negligent driver? An attorney can outline the legal options available and explain how motorist coverage – yours and that of the other driver – may impact your case.
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of Florida. Motorists must carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), which is also known as no-fault insurance . Additionally, motorists must have a minimum of $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL).
PIP provides coverage no matter who was at fault for the accident. Although $10,000 is the minimum amount of coverage, it may be a good idea to get as much coverage as you can. Medical bills from an accident easily can exceed $10,000, and if your injuries prevent you from working, your financial burden can become even more significant.
Not only does PIP cover you, but it also covers members of your household (such as a spouse or children) and passengers who don’t own a vehicle and don’t carry their own PIP insurance. If you are injured as a passenger in someone else’s car, and you have PIP, you will be covered. The same is true if you are injured as a pedestrian or bicyclist.
PDL covers the costs of damages to property if you or family members are liable. Most of the time this relates to the vehicle involved in the car accident, but it could include other types of property as well.
Despite there being minimum mandatory requirements in the state of Florida, some drivers do not follow them, and some accidents exceed coverage provided by a minimum policy. Uninsured and under insured motorist coverage can provide financial protection in the event you are injured in a hit-and-run car accident with a driver who has no insurance or one whose coverage isn’t enough to pay for your damages.
To learn about your legal rights, contact an attorney at the Law Offices of Wolf & Pravato. Call one our offices at 1-561-536-0505 or 1-954-633-8270 to schedule your free consultation.
We help the victims of other practice areas: