How Long Do I Have to Report a Car Accident to Insurance?


Fill out the form below to submit your inquiry

, How Long Do I Have to Report a Car Accident to Insurance?

Report a Car Accident Insurance

You need to notify your car insurance company about a car accident right away, but do not give any statements. Speak with a lawyer first for help in filing your claim and dealing with adjusters.

How Much Time You Have

Every insurance company has different deadlines for notifying them about a car accident, so we cannot say that you must inform your carrier within a specified number of hours or days. You should check your car insurance policy to see if it states a deadline.

Do not wait until the deadline. All you need is a cell phone and your insurance card to call the insurer as soon as possible and protect your claim.

Prompt Notification

Some car policies require “prompt” notification of claims, but they usually do not define what they mean by prompt. Many car insurance policies contain an absolute deadline of 30 days. However, do not be tricked into thinking that the insurer will consider notification within 30 days as prompt. Some insurers have tried to get out of paying valid claims because the insured motorist notified the company two days after an incident instead of the same day.

When Prompt Notification Is Impossible

Sometimes a person cannot notify the insurer promptly or even within 30 days. Let’s say that someone suffers devastating injuries like severe head trauma, is in a coma, or, for some other reason, it is medically impossible for that person to contact his insurer. A close relative or friend might step in and inform the injured person’s insurance company. If there is no one else to handle the notification, a lawyer handling the injury claim can send notice to the insurer.

How to Deal With Your Insurance Company After a Car Accident

You should deal with your insurer as little as possible. Call right away after the accident and provide brief notice of the crash, then contact a car accident lawyer Florida. Let the lawyer handle things from that point. Keep these three things in mind:

  • Do not give a recorded statement. Many claims adjusters ask injured people to give recorded statements. The adjuster might say that the statement is your opportunity to tell your side of the story, but the reality is that the insurer can twist your words to try to pay you less money.
  • Let your lawyer deal directly with the insurer to protect you from the tactics of some adjusters. An adjuster’s job is to pay you as little money as possible for your injuries. Your lawyer can go after the full value of your money damages.
  • You can focus on getting better while we take care of your legal matters. When you are recuperating from injuries, you should not have to stress over your accident claim. We can deal directly with the insurers so that you do not have to.

Our state limits the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit for your injuries. Do not miss the deadline. Contact us today to get started.

Getting Legal Help After a Car Accident

If you got hurt in a car accident because of someone else’s carelessness, you might have a claim for money damages. Personal injury attorney in Florida at The Law Offices of Wolf & Pravato can help you go after the compensation you deserve.

Call us today at (954) 633-8270 for a free consultation. There is no obligation.


Back To Top