Miami Gluten Free Cheerios Recall
General Mills has announced that it is recalling 1.8 million boxes of “gluten free” Cheerios.
According to the company’s statement, the product may contain gluten in the form of wheat. The General Mills plant in Lodi, California, is the focus of the recall as they had issues with offloading flour at the production facility. The voluntary recall includes boxes that produced four days’ worth of production at the site. According to a company representative, there have been two complaints of illness that were made directly to the company that caused the recall.
Anyone with a wheat allergy that has purchased the product should not eat it and should contact General Mills at 1-800-775-8370. The affected products are Cheerios (in the classic yellow box) and Honey Nut Cheerios. For Cheerios, the affected products feature a “Better if Used By” date of “14JUL2016LD” through “17JUL2016LD.” For Honey Nut Cheerios, the dates are “12JUL2016LD” to “25JUL2016LD